If You Love Someone, Tell Them They’re Wrong

I ran across this question recently:

What do you feel are the most important things Christian believers can do to bless, and to provide support/encouragement to people who are questioning their faith or have deconverted from the Christian faith?

This question is frequently asked by concerned Christians, eager to evangelize the heathen.

As a concerned Christian, eager to evangelize the heathen, let me make a suggestion:

Stop asking this question.

Pagans can’t answer it.

Instead, they’ll make a rambling, self-centered speech.

Is that what you want?

A sanctimonious sermon from muddled, egotistical simpletons?

Retract the question before an atheist sees it!

Because we’ll have to read a…whoops…

…too late…

See?

The response to your earnest question is a pompous lecture.

How dare you assume these intellectual giants could learn anything from you?

You asked for it…

People “questioning their faith” shouldn’t be asked MORE QUESTIONS.

Imagine a stranger asking you for directions.

Stranger: “Hey, man! Can you tell me how to get to the courthouse?”

You: “What do you feel are the most important things I can do to bless and encourage you as you search for the courthouse?”

Stranger: “Man! That’s really nice of you to ask!”

The most important thing Christians can do to bless people who are “questioning their faith” is…

…ANSWER THEIR FREAKING QUESTIONS.

That requires knowing stuff.

Before you can give directions to the courthouse, you gotta know how to get there yourself.

And that’s ALL you need to know.

You don’t need to know when the courthouse was built.

Or what time the courthouse opens.

Or what restaurants are in the vicinity.

Just tell the seekers how to get to the courthouse.

And when they argue with you…as they always do…

…walk away.

People lost in darkness need a light.

They can’t express this need themselves.

Please stop making them try.

17 thoughts on “If You Love Someone, Tell Them They’re Wrong

  1. God’s Light and Love are not for those who have no want for it. That longing is a gift of Grace from Him. I have been blessed with such a gift. I seek Him have Him and make use of the security there. I have help to pierce the veil of selfishness that I might bask in the glory of His Light

  2. Corey says:

    Christianity is exclusive. People have to just get over that.

    John (The beloved) sums this up perfectly.

    “He who believes in Him is not condemned; but he who does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God. And this is the condemnation, that the light has come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil. For everyone practicing evil hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed. But he who does the truth comes to the light, that his deeds may be clearly seen, that they have been done in God.”
    John 3:18‭-‬21 NKJV

    The Message translation puts it this way in v.19,

    “This is the crisis we’re in: God-light streamed into the world, but men and women everywhere ran for the darkness. They went for the darkness because they were not really interested in pleasing God.”

  3. Ron says:

    You left out a few parts. The good book teaches us that if you really, really, really love someone you not only tell them they are wrong, but you make them suffer, as well — especially if you consider them innocent of any wrongdoing.

        • John Branyan says:

          Very familiar with the contents of the book.
          That’s why I asked the question.
          Your comment is nonsense. I was giving you a chance to explain yourself.

          I’m curious, Ron, are you trying to persuade people away from Christianity when you comment here or are you just representing idiocy on behalf of the global atheist community?

          • mrsmcmommy says:

            Just read “your book,” JB!

            It will prove Ron 100% correct. lol.

            (But don’t read Nan’s book, which may or may not be truthful.)

          • Ron says:

            If you were familiar with the contents of the book, you wouldn’t have asked where it’s written. Seeing as you did, you’re either unfamiliar with the contents, or choose to ignore the unpleasant parts. I’ll let you decide.

            And I comment here because you invited me to do so over a month ago — remember? If the invitation has been rescinded, let me know and I’ll leave you be. No hard feelings.

          • John Branyan says:

            By all means, keep commenting.

            I hope you’ll forgive me for not spending any time reading scripture to try and make sense of your cryptic comment. If you can’t be bothered to explain your statement, I will ignore it.

          • mrsmcmommy says:

            Little known fact: the children’s book “Charlotte’s Web” actually instructs children to shoot heroin…

            Don’t believe me? Obviously you haven’t read it.

          • mrsmcmommy says:

            Either you haven’t read it or you’re ignoring the uncomfortable parts.

            I’m CERTAINLY not going to tell you.

  4. Corey says:

    It’s just like, “God only helps those that help themselves.”, “Pride goes before a fall.”, “Money is the root of all evil.”, and “The Lord works in mysterious ways.” Those are commonly thought to be in the Bible, but no one can tell you where, because they aren’t.

    I’m sure John and the Peaches have read the Bible once or twice, and I’m sure they are encouraged to continually be in the Word.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *